Stories About Code Obfuscation

(FTB stderr) – Marcus Ranum:

Code Obfuscation is really neat stuff. Or, it can be.

Other than the rare programmer such as the one guy I encountered in a certain university’s database research group in 1988, most programmers write somewhat readable code. It has to be readable because the compiler/interpreter’s parser is almost always more strict than a human would be – programming languages have a specific syntax that strikes a balance between the computer’s ability to be sure what the programmer wants to do, and the programmer’s laziness about expressing it. There are fun philosophical debates among programming language proponents as to the degree to which the computer should try to figure things out. …

If I’ve got to give you a copy of my source code, why not turn “prompt” into “0x000010” or something less readable? Why not turn all my variables into unreadable crud? What if my variables look like: “01oI00”, “0I00Ioo” and so forth? And all my function names can be changed, and my strings can even be removed. …

stderr 2017/04/17 stories

Stunnix obfuscation

Leave a Reply

