Modernizing Shakespeare

(FTB) – Mano Singham:

Whenever I attend a play by William Shakespeare or just read it, I have to confess that I only understand about 60%. This does not prevent me from enjoying the performance or getting the gist but the lack of complete understanding does leave me with the sense that I am enjoying it less that I might. Of course, I could take the trouble to study up the play before I attend but that seems like too much work.

So I was interested in this report about an attempt by the Oregon Shakespeare Festival to try and make Shakespeare more understandable to people like me by translating the entire canon into contemporary English while retaining the rhythm and flavor of the original. …

singham/2015/10/21/modernizing-shakespeare

William Shakespeare's First Folio 1623

Tags:

Leave a Reply

